Cricket Australia


  • 2012/13 India v Australia

    India vs Australia - 4th Test

    March 22, 2013, 3:00PM AET Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi

    Match Status: Day 3 - Completed
    India won by 6 wickets

  • India 4/ 158 (31.2) & 272 (70.2)
  • Australia All Out 164 (46.3) & 262 (112.1)
  • Australia won the toss and elected to bat
  • Graph
  • Current Run Rate: 5.04
MS Dhoni*12142085.71
CA Pujara829211089.13
This Partnership:30 Runs From 28 Balls (R/R: 6.43)

NM Lyon*15.207124.63
GJ Maxwell11.005424.91

Last Wicket:Rahane, 1 (c:Lyon b:Maxwell, Over: 26.4)
Last 5 overs: . 1 . . . 1 | 4 . 1 1 . . | 1 1 . 1 1 1 | . 4 4 4 . . | . 4
Latest Commentary (View More)

32nd Over
So now the Aussies prepare for the Ashes, beginning in July while the Indians next travel to South Africa. That is all we have for you in this series. Hope you enjoyed our coverage. Take care now!
Ravindra Jadeja has been named man-of-the-match with 7 wickets for the match and 43 valuable runs in the first innings for India. And with 29 wickets for the series, Ravichandran Ashwin was the deserved man of the match.
So India take back the Border-Gavaskar trophy with a 4-0 win. They thoroughly deserve the spoils, winning the first three tests rather easily, and the fourth win comfortably in the finish. A learning curve for the inexperienced Aussies.
But all of a sudden Lyon claimed a wicket and the pitch came to life again. There was a batting collapse and hope for the Aussies. If Wade had held on to a caught behind things may have turned further. As it was, that was the last hope for the Aussies.
Siddle though, gave the bowlers something to bowl at as he recorded a second 50 for the match and India needed 155 to win. Despite an early wicket, Pujara and Kohli put any loose deliveries away as the Aussies failed to get much out of the pitch.
At the start of the day, it promised to be a thrilling finish, and with Lyon wrapping up the Indian tail quick, it looked that way. But the Aussie top and middle order succumbed to the spin of India as they quickly collapsed.
And so India have won this match by 6 wickets inside of three days and they have gained some revenge on Australia, having lost 4-0 the last time these two sides played in Australia, they've turned it around and claimed a series whitewash!
Over 31.2: Lyon to Dhoni, FOUR, there it is, throws that bat at this one and slaps it through mid wicket to the rope, India win inside three days by 6 wickets and the series 4-0!
Over 31.1: Lyon to Dhoni, no run, thrown up outside off, he digs it out to mid off
31st Over
A change of bat for Dhoni with one run required for a 4-0 series whitewash.
Over 30.6: Maxwell to Pujara, no run, short ball, on the back foot and he defends to the leg side. IND 4/154 (Pujara 82, Dhoni 8)
Over 30.5: Maxwell to Pujara, no run, fielders are all in, gets back to a short one and defends back to the bowler
Over 30.4: Maxwell to Pujara, FOUR, four more! gets to the pitch and takes it on the full once more, drives it in the air, wide of mid on, just 1 needed now
Over 30.3: Maxwell to Pujara, FOUR, long hop outside off, back and he cuts it through backward point, almost there now, 150 up (183b)
Just 9 needed now.
Over 30.2: Maxwell to Pujara, FOUR, forward and takes it on the full, crashes it through mid wicket to the rope
Over 30.1: Maxwell to Pujara, no run, comes down the track and drives it back to the bowler
30th Over
Over 29.6: Lyon to Pujara, one run, short ball, on the back foot and pulls it out to deep mid wicket. IND 4/142 (Pujara 70, Dhoni 8)
Over 29.5: Lyon to Dhoni, one run, comes forward and gets a faint inside edge on to the pad, behind point for another run
Over 29.4: Lyon to Pujara, one run, whips this one off his toes through forward square
Over 29.3: Lyon to Pujara, no run, APPEAL, sliding across him, beats the edge, huge appeal mainly from around the bat, not from Lyon
Over 29.2: Lyon to Dhoni, one run, forward and he turns it through mid wicket, one more run off the required total
Over 29.1: Lyon to Pujara, one run, tossed up and he whips it off his pads through mid wicket

India: Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni (c/wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma

Australia: Edward Cowan, David Warner, Phillip Hughes, Shane Watson (c), Steven Smith, Matthew Wade (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Kettleborough, RA (ENG)
Third Umpire: Ravi, S (IND)
Match Refree: Madugalle, RS (SLA)

For use in the RHC on live scores