Cricket Australia


  • 2012/13 Toyota Futures League

    Queensland vs Tasmania - Match 02

    September 17, 2012, 10:00AM AET Allan Border Field, Brisbane

    Match Status: Day 4 - Completed
    Tasmania won by 36 runs

  • Queensland All Out 279 (64.4) & 361 (99.0) (dec)
  • Tasmania 9/ 278 (78.0) (dec) & 398 (123.5)
  • Tasmania won the toss and elected to bat
  • Graph
  • Current Run Rate: 4.31
AC McDermott*180012.50
NM Hauritz726563110.77
This Partnership:4 Runs From 17 Balls (R/R: 1.41)

JP Faulkner*5.403416.00
T van der Gugten8.002823.50

Last Wicket:McDermott, 1 (c:Dunk b:Faulkner, Over: 64.4)
Last 5 overs: . . 2 . 1 . | . 1 . . W 1 | . . 1 . . . | . . . . 1 1 | . . . W
Latest Commentary (View More)

65th Over
Tasmania defeated Queensland by 36 runs to win the second Toyota Futures League match at Allan Border Field in Brisbane. Thanks for reading and we'll do it all again soon.
RESULT: TAS 398 (Doolan 134, McDermott 3/44, Cutting 3/71) & 9d/278 (Gulbis 109*, Hauritz 3/79) defeated QLD 4d/361 (Barsby 100, Kemp 82, Floros 77*) & 279 (Hauritz 72*, Peirson 59, Pyecroft 2/17, van der Gugten 2/28, Rainbird 2/33). Points - TAS 6, QLD 0
The match really swung in Tasmania's favour on the back of Evan Gulbis yesterday. He arrived with his side in deep trouble and played a brilliant counter-attacking innings to set up a competitive total. Sam Rainbird also bowled well during the week.
Queensland nearly fought back with James Peirson and Nathan Hauritz threatening to hit their way to victory but it wasn't to be in the end. There was some good catching late in the innings to secure the victory.
We've seen a very good Toyota Futures League match here at Allan Border Field this week on a pitch that certainly favoured the batsmen. A couple of good declarations set up a final day contest and Tasmania were too strong in the end.
A.McDermott - c:Dunk b:Faulkner 1 (8). FOW 10/279 (64.4), 10th wicket partnership (Hauritz/McDermott) of 4 runs. N.Hauritz - 72* (65).
Over 64.4: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, OUT, drives outside off stump and gets an edge through to Dunk. Tasmania have hung on to win a very entertaining Toyota Futures League match!
Over 64.3: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, on the crease and defends safely to cover.
Over 64.2: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, drives hard and misses outside the off stump.
Over 64.1: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, on the crease and defends towards point.
64th Over
Over 63.6: van der Gugten to McDermott, one run, whips a single off the pads down to fine leg, 37 to win. QLD 9/279 (Hauritz 72, McDermott 1)
Over 63.5: van der Gugten to Hauritz, one run, slices a drive away through the cover gap.
Over 63.4: van der Gugten to Hauritz, no run, big swing and a miss outside the off stump.
Over 63.3: van der Gugten to Hauritz, no run, glides the ball down on the bounce to Johnston in the gully.
Over 63.2: van der Gugten to Hauritz, no run, big swing and gets an inside edge onto his pad as the ball rolls away.
Over 63.1: van der Gugten to Hauritz, no run, APPEAL, big shout for lbw as Hauritz tries to work the ball through the leg-side. Umpire Hoffman shakes his head.
63rd Over
Over 62.6: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, leaves a slower ball outside the off stump, 39 to win. QLD 9/277 (Hauritz 71, McDermott 0)
Over 62.5: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, on the crease and defends into the covers.
Over 62.4: Faulkner to McDermott, no run, gets forward and defends solidly back to the bowler.
Over 62.3: Faulkner to Hauritz, one run, drives along the ground to deep cover and they take the run.
Over 62.2: Faulkner to Hauritz, no run, mis-times a drive and the ball bounces away behind the wicket.
Over 62.1: Faulkner to Hauritz, no run, gets across and defends back to the bowler.

Queensland: Corey Barsby, Alex Kemp, Dom Michael, Chris Lynn, Nick Stevens, Jason Floros, Michael Neser, James Peirson (wk), Nathan Hauritz (c), Ben Cutting, Alister McDermott, Scott Walter (12th)

Tasmania: Steve Cazzulino, Ben Dunk (wk), Alex Doolan, James Faulkner (c), Matthew Johnston, Evan Gulbis, Jason Krejza, Sean Willis, Sam Rainbird, Timm van der Gugten, Alex Pyecroft, Sandy Rogers (12th)

Umpires: Hoffman, C (AUS), Kangur, JJ (AUS)
Third Umpire:
Match Refree: Stratford, RW (AUS)

For use in the RHC on live scores