Cricket Australia


  • 2012/13 Australia v Sri Lanka [ODI]

    Australia vs Sri Lanka - 1st ODI

    January 11, 2013, 2:20PM AET Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

    Match Status: Completed
    Australia won by 107 runs

  • Sri Lanka All Out 198 (40.0)
  • Australia 5/ 305 (50.0)
  • Australia won the toss and elected to bat
  • Current Run Rate: 4.95
  • Required Run Rate: 10.80
  • Graph
BAW Mendis*01000.00
SL Malinga120050.00
This Partnership:0 Runs From 1 Balls (R/R: 0.00)

CJ McKay*8.003344.13
MG Johnson9.014324.78

Last Wicket:Mendis, 0 (c:Haddin b:McKay, Over: 39.6)
Last 5 overs:2 . . W 1 . | . 1 . 1 4 1lb | . 1wd 1wd 4 1 2 . . | 1wd 4 1 1 1 W . | . . 1 1 1wd 1wd W W
Latest Commentary (View More)

40th Over
Attendance at the MCG was 27,461. Join us again on Sunday for live coverage of the 2nd ODI of the Commonwealth Bank Series from the Adelaide Oval. Goodbye from the MCG!
Chandimal and Dilshan batted well to combine for a partnership of 94 for third wicket, steering the run chase around the same pace as the Australian innings. But once they were dismissed, the run chase quickly lost momentum.
Phil Hughes, making his ODI debut for Australia, took the man of the match award after an excellent innings of 112 (129 balls, 14x4) to setup an impressive total of 5/305 off 50 overs.
Glenn Maxwell was excellent in building pressure with two run outs in two balls, whilst Usman Khawaja took the key wicket of Dilshan with a direct hit.
Sri Lanka showed plenty of hesitation with their running between the wickets mid way through the innings in what was a turning point that brought the run chase to a halt.
Clinton McKay ended up with great figures of 4/33 off 8 overs. He was well supported by Mitchell Johnson (2/43 off 9 overs) and Mitchell Starc (1/25 off 6 overs). The spinners didn't have an impact on the innings.
A very comprehensive victory by Australia, setup by a well paced batting innings and then regular wickets and excellent fielding to always have Sri Lanka under pressure in their run chase.
Over 39.6: McKay to BAW Mendis, no run, OUT, attempting to run down to third man only to find a thin edge through to the keeper to end the innings and present a 107 run victory to Australia.
Over 39.5: McKay to Kulasekara, no run, OUT, lofted down to Bailey at mid on for another catch. Australia very close to victory now. Ajentha Mendis is the new batsman
Over 39.4: McKay to Kulasekara, wide, aimed down the leg side
Over 39.4: McKay to Kulasekara, wide, placed down the leg side
Over 39.4: McKay to Malinga, one run, slower ball is dabbed to third man
Over 39.3: McKay to Kulasekara, one run, pulled in the air through mid wicket
Over 39.2: McKay to Kulasekara, no run, attempting to pull a short delivery
Over 39.1: McKay to Kulasekara, no run, full delivery is driven towards cover
39th Over
Over 38.6: Johnson to Malinga, no run, full ball is played into the off side. SLA 8/194 (Kulasekara 17, Malinga 0)
Over 38.5: Johnson to NLTC Perera, no run, OUT, forced low and very hard to Bailey at mid off who is able to just hold onto a very low catch. Lasith Malinga is the new batsman
Over 38.4: Johnson to Kulasekara, one run, full and wide and edged to third man
Over 38.3: Johnson to NLTC Perera, one run, lofted to cover for a single
Over 38.2: Johnson to Kulasekara, one run, underedged cut through point
Over 38.1: Johnson to Kulasekara, FOUR, backing away to loft to deep mid wicket to the boundary
Over 38.1: Johnson to Kulasekara, wide, short and fast bouncer

Australia: Aaron Finch, Phillip Hughes, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey (c), David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty, Steven Smith (12th)

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera (12th)

Umpires: Kettleborough, RA (ENG), Reiffel, PR (AUS)
Third Umpire: Erasmus, M (SAF)
Match Refree: Srinath, J (IND)

For use in the RHC on live scores