Cricket Australia


  • 2012/13 KFC Big Bash League

    Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder - Match 29

    January 8, 2013, 7:00PM AET Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

    Match Status: Completed
    Melbourne Stars won by 13 runs

  • Sydney Thunder All Out 132 (19.4)
  • Melbourne Stars 8/ 145 (20.0)
  • Melbourne Stars won the toss and elected to bat
  • Current Run Rate: 6.71
  • Required Run Rate: 42.00
  • Graph
GS Sandhu*6610100.00
DP Nannes00000.00
This Partnership:0 Runs From 1 Balls (R/R: 0.00)

JP Faulkner*3.402436.55
JW Hastings3.0033111.00

Last Wicket:Sandhu, 6 (c:Quiney b:Faulkner, Over: 19.4)
Last 5 overs: . . . 1 1 . | 1 W . 1 . 2 | 1 1 1 1 W . | 4 W . . 2 4 | . 4 W W
Latest Commentary (View More)

20th Over
Join us again tomorrow for live coverage of the Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Renegades match, with Alex Hales set to debut for the Renegades. Goodbye from the MCG!
Looking at the ladder, it is likely that the Stars will finish 3rd on net run rate, with the winner of the Strikers vs Scorchers match to move up to 2nd position with a higher net run rate.
Melbourne Stars now move to 10 points. They now must wait on the results of the final matches of Round 8 to see where they will finish in the Top 4. Sydney Thunder finish the season winless and will need to review their strategy for BBL03.
It was a great bowling effort by the Stars with all bowlers taking a wicket. Faulkner finished with 3/24, Mascarenhas was impressive in his first match with 2/27, and Bird carried on his great Australian form with 1/20 off 4 overs.
Gayle (65 off 43 balls) and Khawaja (23 off 18 balls) were the only batsmen to reach double figures. Gayle received the man of the match award for his entertaining innings.
Sydney Thunder were cruising at 2/91 with Gayle and Khawaja comfortably handling the run chase. They then lost 8/41 to find a way to present victory to the Stars.
Over 19.4: Faulkner to Sandhu, no run, OUT, advancing down the pitch, finding an edge through to Quiney to gift victory to the Stars and a Top 4 finish
Over 19.3: Faulkner to Doran, no run, OUT, slower ball is top edged to backward square leg, safely caught by Mascarenhas. Dirk Nannes is the final batsman
Over 19.2: Faulkner to Doran, FOUR, advancing down the pitch, finding an inside edge between the keeper and short fine leg to the rope. 14 off 4 balls required
Over 19.1: Faulkner to Doran, no run, play and miss to a full and straight delivery
19th Over
Faulkner replaces McKay (4-0-21-1) at the Southern End
Over 18.6: Hastings to Sandhu, FOUR, backing away, struck hard straight of long off to the rope. Thunder need a big over here, 18 off 6 balls required.. SYT 8/128 (Sandhu 6, Doran 0)
Over 18.5: Hastings to Sandhu, two runs, flicked in the air over point to get off the mark
Over 18.4: Hastings to Sandhu, no run, swaying under a quick bouncer
Over 18.3: Hastings to Sandhu, no run, play and miss outside off stump
Over 18.2: Hastings to Zampa, no run, OUT, sliced high to deep cover were Hodge runs in for the catch. Luke Doran is the new batsman.
Over 18.1: Hastings to Zampa, FOUR, half volley is powerfully struck over cover to the rope
18th Over
Hastings replaces Mascarenhas (4-0-27-2) at the Members End
Over 17.6: McKay to Sandhu, no run, slower ball is left alone through to the keeper. Tough ask for the Thunder now who need 28 off 12 balls with 3 wickets in hand. SYT 7/118 (Sandhu 0, Zampa 4)
Over 17.5: McKay to Cosgrove, one run, OUT, slower ball is pulled to Maxwell at deep mid wicket, Cosgrove is run out by a long way coming back for the second run. Sandhu is next in
Over 17.4: McKay to Zampa, one run, deflected to short third man for one
Over 17.3: McKay to Cosgrove, one run, driven to long off
Over 17.2: McKay to Zampa, one run, awkwardly popped up from high on the bat into the off side
Over 17.1: McKay to Cosgrove, one run, steered to third man

Melbourne Stars: Luke Wright, Rob Quiney (wk), Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Cameron White (c), John Hastings, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Clint McKay, Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb (12th)

Sydney Thunder: Chris Gayle (c), Simon Keen, Matt Prior, Usman Khawaja, Mark Cosgrove, Ryan Carters (wk), Sean Abbott, Gurinder Sandhu, Adam Zampa, Luke Doran, Dirk Nannes, Cameron Borgas (12th)

Umpires: Joshua, GC (AUS), Martell, MD (AUS)
Third Umpire: Lock, IH (AUS)
Match Refree: Stratford, RW (AUS)

For use in the RHC on live scores